the art of the travel journal

Not falconry but I wrote this little piece for a website I contribute to and I thought some might find it interesting and even useful. Here’s the beginning:

“When I travel I always carry a little black moleskin journal that flips open like a reporter’s notebook. I also buy a new pen before a journey that I slip through the elasticized band that encircles the journal. This is my traveling kit – one in which I make notes in longhand and draw sketches to illustrate what I’m seeing. I imagine what I record is like a kindergarten version of what Mark Twain or Robert Louis Stevenson – two great 19th century diarists – might have recorded.
 
Often, when I read through my notebook after a trip, I’m struck by how things going on in the outside world tend to creep into my observations; how my remarks are guided by events that may or may not be in the front of my brain at the time; how I can completely miss the story in front of me in favor of a description of something like a mountain ash tree.” (click here to read more . . .)

Here’s a snippet from one of my pages, complete with cartoon drawing:

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

